Amherst Writers & Artist Press is pleased to announce the winners of the Fifth Annual Pat Schneider Poetry Contest

1st prize awarded to William Allen Miller of Montague, Massachusetts

William Allen Miller will receive the $1,000 prize and his winning poem, “David,” will be published in Peregrine, a forum for national and international writers since 1983 committed to finding exceptional work by both emerging and established writers published by Amherst Writers & Artists Press.

First Honorable Mention awarded to

Laura Apol of Lyons, Michigan for “Mother, Smoking”

Second Honorable Mention awarded to

Annie Fahy of Asheville, North Carolina for “Yoko”


Laurie Baron of Holland, Michigan; John Joseph Bowman of Auburn, California; Monica Corish of Kinlough, County Leitrim, Ireland; Donald Fisher, of Chicopee, Massachusetts; Beth Suter of Davis, California; and Catherine Wald of New York, New York

Contest Chief Judge: Dr. Sue Walker, Stokes Distinguished Professor, University of South Alabama and Poet Laureate of Alabama 2007-2012

Amherst Writers & Artists (AWA) is a non-profit, international arts organization dedicated to the principle that everyone can create art. The Fifth Annual Pat Schneider Poetry Contest was made possible by generous support from the Vessel Foundation and the Friends of Pat & Peter Schneider.